23 | 11 | 17

Calendar

Großes Haus
Premiere
26 | 05 | 2017
Duration
1 h 10 min

Dates

02 | 03 | 2018 // 19.30 h Tickets
18 | 03 | 2018 // 18.00 h Tickets

Anfahrt

Photos

by Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

St. John Passion //

The Passion of Christ as told by the Gospel of John, 1784 Staged performance

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach, the second son of Johann Sebastian Bach, was born in Weimar in 1714 and achieved greater fame than his father during his lifetime. He himself deeply admired the music of his godfather Georg Philipp Telemann and eventually influenced Viennese Classicism with his »sensitive style«. In fact, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart wrote: »He (Emanuel Bach) is the father; we are the boys. Those of us who have learned our trade well, have learned it from him. Anyone who knows me well would realize that I owe Emanuel Bach a great deal, that I have understood and studied his work diligently.«

From 1768 until his death in 1788, he worked as Hamburg’s music director and cantor at the Johanneum, a position which came with an enormous workload and required Bach to focus more intensively on church music. Bach succeeded in fulfilling his extensive compositional obligations by using a »pasticcio« method. He resorted to reworking existing pieces, including many of his own along with established works by fellow composers, added movements or revised the recitatives.

And the same applies to his St. John Passion, which will likely be its first performance in Germany since Bach’s times. We know for certain that the arias were composed by the master himself. The origins of the other parts of the score have not yet been determined. Nonetheless, the composition of the pieces (in the sense of its “arrangement”) is truly the creative child of Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach.

The new general music director and principal conductor of the Staatskapelle Weimar Kirill Karabits discovered the score in the estate of the Berlin Singakademie, stored in the archives of the university library in Kiev. This performance of the St. John Passion is his own direct transcription of that score. The work will be performed during the German Protestant Church Congress and marks Weimar’s and Jena’s commemoration of the 500th anniversary of the Reformation.

Prior to the performance, Krzysztof Penderecki, the DNT’s »composer in residence«, will present his version of the Lutheran chorale »Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott«.

Holger Reinhardt (Musikalische Leitung)
Philipp Harnouncourt (Regie und Bühne)
Friederike Lettow (Kostüme)
Bahadir Hamdemir (Video)
Candy Welz (Live-Fotografie)
Hans-Georg Wegner (Dramaturgie)

Cast

Emma Moore (Sopran)
Thaisen Rusch (Evangelist)
Klaus Wegener (Pilatus)
Jens Schmiedeke (Petrus)
Daeyoung Kim (Bass)
Oliver Luhn (Jesus (1))
Yong Jae Moon (Jesus (2) / Knecht / Diener)
Chang-Hoon Lee (Jesus (3))
Chong Ken Kim (Jesus (4))
Karine Minasyan (Magd)

17 | 08 | 17

Spielplan

Großes Haus
Premiere
26 | 05 | 17
Stückdauer
1 Std. 10 Min.

Termine

Anfahrt

Fotos

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Johannes-Passion //

Passion nach dem Evangelisten Johannes von 1784 · Szenische Aufführung

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach, der zweite Sohn von Johann Sebastian Bach, der in Weimar 1714 das Licht der Welt erblickte, war zu seinen Lebzeiten berühmter als sein Vater. Selbst ein großer Verehrer der Musik seines Paten Georg Philipp Telemann, prägte er mit seinem ›empfindsamen Stil‹ maßgeblich die Wiener Klassik. So schrieb Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart über ihn: »Er (Emanuel Bach) ist der Vater; wir sind die Bubn. Wer von uns was Rechts kann, hats von ihm gelernt.« Oder Joseph Haydn: »Wer mich gründlich kennt, der muss finden, dass ich dem Emanuel Bach sehr vieles verdanke, dass ich ihn verstanden und fleißig studiert habe.«

Von 1768 bis zu seinem Tode im Jahr 1788 wirkte er in Hamburg als städtischer Musikdirektor und Kantor am Johanneum, was zu einem enormen Arbeitspensum führte – und Bach dazu verpflichtete, sich stärker der Kirchenmusik zuzuwenden. Bach begegnete den umfangreichen kompositorischen Verpflichtungen mit einer ›Pasticcio‹-Technik: Er griff auf vorhandene Kompositionen zurück, teils eigene, teils erprobte Werke seiner Kollegen, überarbeitete diese, fügte Sätze hinzu oder bearbeitete die Rezitative.

So auch in der hier vermutlich zum ersten Mal seit Bachs Zeiten in Deutschland aufgeführten Johannes-Passion. Als sicher gilt, dass die Arien vom Meister selbst verfertigt wurden. Die übrigen Teile der Komposition sind in ihrer Herkunft noch nicht erforscht. Dennoch ist die Komposition (im Sinne von ›Zusammenstellung‹) der Musiknummern seine ganz eigene künstlerische Leistung.

Der neue Generalmusikdirektor und Chefdirigent der Staatskapelle Weimar, Kirill Karabits, hat in Kiew im Archiv der Universitätsbibliothek den Nachlass der Berliner Singakademie erforscht und die Noten dieser Johannes-Passion entdeckt und selbst transkribiert. Nun kommt das Werk im Rahmen des »Kirchentage auf dem Weg«, mit dem Weimar und Jena das 500-jährige Jubiläum der Reformation feiern, zur Aufführung.

Kirill Karabits (Musikalische Leitung)
Philipp Harnouncourt (Regie und Bühne)
Friederike Lettow (Kostüme)
Bahadir Hamdemir (Video)
Candy Welz (Live-Fotografie)
Hans-Georg Wegner (Dramaturgie)

Besetzung

Emma Moore (Sopran)
Thaisen Rusch (Evangelist)
Klaus Wegener (Pilatus)
Jens Schmiedeke (Petrus)
Daeyoung Kim (Bass)
Oliver Luhn (Jesus (1))
Yong Jae Moon (Jesus (2) / Knecht / Diener)
Chang-Hoon Lee (Jesus (3))
Chong Ken Kim (Jesus (4))
Arianna Ballotta (Magd)