16 | 12 | 17

Calendar

E-Werk Maschinensaal
Premiere
16 | 11 | 2017
Age
from the age of 13 up

Dates

20 | 12 | 2017 // 20.00 h Tickets
05 | 01 | 2018 // 20.00 h Tickets
14 | 02 | 2018 // 20.00 h Tickets
20 | 03 | 2018 // 20.00 h Tickets

Anfahrt

Photos

Video

Henry Purcell

Dido and Aeneas //

Opera in three acts by Henry Purcell Libretto by Nahum Tate
In English with German subtitles

Dido's heart is swept with "storms of worry" when she first meets Aeneas. Since her husband's assassination, she alone has managed the fortunes of Carthage. Aeneas has been on the run since the fall of Troy and now seeks asylum in the Queen's empire. Dido falls in love with him, but is haughty and unapproachable. But with the encouragement from good spirits, she dares to take a leap into the unknown.

But soon, encroaching forces of evil come to destroy her new-found happiness. A spirit in the form of Jupiter reminds Aeneas of his task of establishing a new Troy and urges him to set sail immediately. Aeneas feels he must obey, but in so doing, he risks extinguishing the flame of his love. Even though he ultimately decides to remain, Dido's trust in him is irreparably shattered. This betrayal of her unconditional devotion drives her to the extreme.

Even during his lifetime, Henry Purcell was celebrated as the greatest English composer of all times. His "Dido and Aeneas" of 1689 marked a milestone in Baroque opera. The piece presents the legend of Vergil's "Aeneid" through deeply evocative arias, grotesque witch chants and masterfully composed dances. Instead of the gods, Purcell incorporated heathen powers. Using the sorceress, spirits and witches to reflect the protagonist's dark side, the relationship between Dido and Aeneas becomes a deeply psychological drama. In the end, Purcell presents Dido's audacious, radiating lamentation "Remember me − but ah! forget my fate" − one of the most moving elegies of opera history to this day.

The opera is directed by Corinna von Rad who is known for her highly acclaimed productions in Weimar, such as Handel's "Alcina", Shakespeare's "Tempest" and Jura Soyfer's "Astoria".

 

Trailer: Marius Böttcher

Dominik Beykirch (Musikalische Leitung)
Corinna von Rad (Regie)
Ralf Käselau (Bühne)
Sabine Blickenstorfer (Kostüme)
Martina Stütz / Julie Paucker (Dramaturgie)
Julie Paucker / Corinna von Rad (Textfassung)
Mario Orlando El Fakih Hernández / Sebastian Ludwig (Choreinstudierung)

Cast

Amira Elmadfa / Sayaka Shigeshima (Dido)
Uwe Schenker-Primus (Aeneas)
Krunoslav Šebrek (The Traveler)
Heike Porstein (Belinda / Chor (Sopran))
Friederike Beykirch (Second Woman / Chor (Sopran))
Nils Wanderer (Sorceress / Spirit / Sailor / Chor (Alt))
SuJin Bae (First Witch / Chor (Sopran))
Pihla Terttunen (Second Witch / Chor (Alt))
Jens Schmiedeke (First Sailor / Chor (Tenor))
Margarita Greiner (Chor (Alt))
Detlef Koball / Darrel Mills (Chor (Tenor))
Chong Ken Kim / Chang-Hoon Lee / Oliver Luhn (Chor (Bass))
Alexander Schuchert (Schlagwerk)

18 | 10 | 17

Spielplan

E-Werk Maschinensaal
Premiere
16 | 11 | 17
Alter
ab 13 Jahren

Termine

16 | 11 | 17 // 20.00 Uhr Karten
18 | 11 | 17 // 20.00 Uhr Karten
24 | 11 | 17 // 20.00 Uhr Karten
09 | 12 | 17 // 20.00 Uhr Karten
20 | 12 | 17 // 20.00 Uhr Karten

Anfahrt

Henry Purcell

Dido und Aeneas //

Oper in drei Akten von Henry Purcell Libretto von Nahum Tate
In englischer Sprache mit deutschen Übertiteln

Mit »Stürmen der Sorge« ist Didos Herz beladen, als sie Aeneas begegnet: Seit der Ermordung ihres Mannes regiert sie alleine über die Geschicke Karthagos. Aeneas ist seit dem Untergang Trojas auf der Flucht und sucht Schutz im Reich der Königin. Dido entbrennt in Liebe zu ihm – aber sie ist stolz und unnahbar: nur dank Zuredens guter Geister wagt sie den Sprung ins Unbekannte.

Doch schon kriechen böse Kräfte herbei, um das neue Glück zu zerstören: Ein Geist in Gestalt des Jupiter erinnert Aeneas an seinen Auftrag, ein neues Troja zu errichten. Er müsse sofort die Anker lichten. Aeneas beschließt zu gehorchen, doch damit stellt er seine Liebe vor eine Zerreißprobe. Dass er sich schließlich entscheidet, doch zu bleiben, zählt für Dido nicht mehr. Der Verrat an ihrer unbedingten Hingabe treibt sie zum Äußersten.

Henry Purcell galt bereits zu Lebzeiten als größter englischer Komponist. Mit »Dido and Aeneas« hat er um 1689 einen Meilenstein der barocken Oper geschaffen. Die Sage aus Vergils »Aeneis« erzählt er anhand tiefempfundener Arien, grotesker Hexengesänge und virtuoser Tanzmusiken. An die Stelle der Götter treten heidnische Mächte. Indem die Zauberin samt Geist und Hexen wie eine Spiegelung der dunklen Seite der Protagonisten erscheinen, gestaltet sich die Beziehung zwischen Dido und Aeneas vor allem als innerseelisches Drama. Am Ende steht mit Didos kühnem, leuchtendem Lamento eine der eindringlichsten musikalischen Klagen der Operngeschichte: »Remember me – but ah! forget my fate.«

Es inszeniert Corinna von Rad, die in Weimar bereits für ihre Inszenierungen u.a. von Händels »Alcina«, Shakespeares »Sturm« und Jura Soyfers »Astoria« bekannt ist.

Dominik Beykirch (Musikalische Leitung)
Corinna von Rad (Regie)
Ralf Käselau (Bühne)
Sabine Blickenstorfer (Kostüme)
Martina Stütz / Julie Paucker (Dramaturgie)

Besetzung

Sayaka Shigeshima (Dido)
Uwe Schenker-Primus (Aeneas)
Heike Porstein (Bellinda / Chor (Sopran))
Friederike Beykirch (Second Woman / Chor (Sopran))
Nils Wanderer (Sorceress / Spirit / Sailor / Chor (Alt))
SuJin Bae (Hexe 1 / Chor (Sopran))
Pihla Terttunen (Hexe 2 / Chor (Alt))
Jens Schmiedeke (First Sailor / Chor (Tenor))
Krunoslav Šebrek (Schauspieler)
Margarita Greiner (Chor (Alt))
Detlef Koball / Darrel Mills (Chor (Tenor))
Chong Ken Kim / Chang-Hoon Lee / Oliver Luhn (Chor (Bass))