22 | 10 | 17

Calendar

Studiobühne
Age
from the age of 12 up

Dates

Anfahrt

World premiere · based on the novel by Mirjam Pressler // with music by André Kassel Live electronics by Paul Hauptmeier and Martin Recker

Nathan and His Children //

Stage adaptation by Kathrin Kondaurow

Nathan is dead. He bequeaths his family, his close acquaintances and society in general a valuable, though controversial legacy - the obligation to guarantee equal and peaceful coexistence between all religions.

Based on Mirjam Pressler's novel »Nathan and His Children« which she, in turn, based on Lessing's drama "Nathan the Wise", the DNT presents a new musical theatre piece which shifts the focus onto those close to Nathan and their search for identity.

How does Recha deal with the fact that Nathan is not her biological father and that she is the child of a Christian woman and Muslim man? What does it mean for the young Knight Templar Curd von Stauffen to not be of pure Christian origin and that his supposedly Jewish beloved is actually his sister? How does Sittah, the sister of the ruling sultan, define the role of women in Islam? And what does identity mean for Geschem, an orphan whom Nathan had taken into his care?

All of the characters have their own unique perspective on Nathan's legacy. Through the use of electro-acoustic music, live instruments and vocals, the performance highlights the diversity of the themes, reflected and challenged by a broad range of musical techniques.

Geertje Boeden, a freelance director and playwright, has worked as an assistant director in numerous productions in theatres in Stuttgart, Darmstadt, Warsaw and Weimar, and has served as director of the Bregenz Festival. This production will be her directing debut at the DNT.

Geertje Boeden (Regie)
Philip Rubner (Bühne und Kostüme)
Kathrin Kondaurow (Dramaturgie)
Paul Hauptmeier / Martin Recker (Electronics)

Cast

Karine Minasyan (Recha)
Simone Müller (Sittah)
Jörn Eichler (Tempelherr)
Henry Neill (Geschem)
Christoph Heckel (Elijahu)

18 | 12 | 17

Spielplan

Studiobühne
Premiere
01 | 02 | 18
Alter
ab 12 Jahren

Termine

01 | 02 | 18 // 10.00 Uhr Karten
03 | 02 | 18 // 16.00 Uhr
15 | 02 | 18 // 10.00 Uhr Karten
20 | 02 | 18 // 10.00 Uhr Karten

Anfahrt

Uraufführung · nach Mirjam Pressler // mit Musik von André Kassel und Electronics von Paul Hauptmeier und Martin Recker

Nathan und seine Kinder //

Bühnenfassung von Kathrin Kondaurow

Nathan ist tot. Er hinterlässt seiner Familie, seinen Vertrauten, der Gesellschaft ein ebenso wertvolles wie kontroverses Erbe: das Einstehen für ein ebenbürtiges und friedvolles Miteinander aller Religionen.

Ausgehend von Mirjam Presslers Roman »Nathan und seine Kinder« nach Lessings Drama »Nathan der Weise« entsteht ein neues Stück Musiktheater, das die Menschen um Nathan und ihre Suche nach Identität ins Zentrum rückt.

Wie geht Recha damit um, dass Nathan nicht ihr leiblicher Vater ist und sie von einer Christin und einem Moslem abstammt? Was bedeutet es für den jungen Tempelritter Curd von Stauffen, nicht rein christlicher Abstammung zu sein und in seiner vermeintlich jüdischen Angebeteten seine Schwester erkennen zu müssen? Wie definiert Sittah, die Schwester des herrschenden Sultans, die Frauenrolle im Islam? Und was bedeutet Identität für Geschem, einem Waisenjungen, den Nathan bei sich aufgenommen hat.

In Hinblick auf Nathans Vermächtnis nehmen alle Figuren eine eigene Perspektive ein. Über den Umgang mit elektro­akustischer Musik, Live-Instrumenten und Stimme wird die inhaltliche Diversität aufgegriffen und durch die Vielfalt der musikalischen Mittel reflektiert und konterkariert.

Geertje Boeden, freischaffende Regisseurin und Autorin, hat als Regieassistentin viele szenische Übernahmen an Häusern wie Stuttgart, Darmstadt, Warschau und Weimar sowie bei den Bregenzer Festspielen geleitet. Mit dieser Produktion legt sie ihre erste Regiearbeit am DNT vor.

Geertje Boeden (Regie)
Philip Rubner (Bühne und Kostüme)
Kathrin Kondaurow (Dramaturgie)
Paul Hauptmeier / Martin Recker (Electronics)

Besetzung

Karine Minasyan (Recha)
Simone Müller (Sittah)
Jörn Eichler (Tempelherr)
Henry Neill (Geschem)
Christoph Heckel (Elijahu)