21 | 11 | 17

Calendar

Großes Haus
Premiere
13 | 09 | 2014
Duration
3 h 10 min
Age
16 and older

Dates

Anfahrt

Photos

based on the novel by Klaus Mann

Mephisto //

Stage adaptation by Robert Schuster and Nora Khuon

The young actor and director Hendrik Höfgen celebrates his first major successes in Hamburg in the mid-1920s. He despises the Nazis, rubs elbows with the leftists and envisions a »Revolutionary Theatre«. No wonder he hides in fear when the Nazis seize power in 1933. But then something completely unexpected happens. He makes a big comeback as the minister’s protégé and is chosen to represent the theatre of the Nazi regime. His most famous and celebrated role is that of Goethe’s Mephisto.

Encouraged by a friend in 1935 to write a novel about a »homosexual careerist in the Third Reich«, Klaus Mann put the story of »Gustav Gründgens« to paper while he was living in exile in Holland. Klaus Mann’s novel was not intended to be a portrayal of a real-life person, but rather a description of the rise of an opportunist whose character possesses – like Mephisto – something obscene, dangerously iridescent and diabolically irresistible. In the book, Klaus Mann raises the question of what possibilities are available to artists in a repressive system, the sinister relationship between art and power, between freedom and temptation. How valuable are artists to society, what standards should artists adhere to and what responsibility do they bear?

The story of the highly talented actor Hendrik Höfgen, who was lured into the service of a Mephistophelian system through his uncontrollable narcissism and ambition, picks up where Goethe’s »Faust« left off at the beginning of the 2013/14 season at the DNT. At the same time, the play revisits an intriguing chapter of history of the Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar.

Robert Schuster has directed plays in Freiburg, Bremen, Frankfurt and numerous other cities. In 2013 he was appointed to head the Department of Theatre Direction at the »Ernst Busch« Academy of Dramatic Arts in Berlin.

 

Robert Schuster (director)
Sascha Gross (stage- and costumedesign)
Nora Khuon (dramaturgy)
Bahadir Hamdemir (video)
zeitblom (music)

cast

Johanna Geißler
Bernd Lange
Robert Schuster
Lutz Salzmann
Jonas Schlagowsky
Michael Wächter
Elke Wieditz

17 | 12 | 17

Spielplan

Großes Haus
Premiere
13 | 09 | 14
Stückdauer
3 Std. 10 Min.
Alter
ab 16 Jahren

Termine

Anfahrt

Fotos

nach dem Roman von Klaus Mann

Mephisto //

Bühnenfassung von Robert Schuster und Nora Khuon

 

»Ich habe mich noch nie für Politik interessiert – warum also jetzt? Ich bin Schauspieler.«

 

Der junge Schauspieler und Regisseur Hendrik Höfgen feiert Mitte der 1920er Jahre in Hamburg seine ersten Erfolge. Er hasst die Nazis, hält zu den Linken und imaginiert sich ein »Revolutionäres Theater«. Nicht verwunderlich, dass er sich nach dem Umsturz 1933 angstvoll verkriecht. Doch was dann folgt, konnte niemand vorhersehen. Er taucht wieder auf und wird als Protegé des Ministers zum Herrscher der repräsentativsten Bühne des Naziregimes gekürt, seine umjubelte Paraderolle wird Goethes Mephisto sein.
Angestiftet von einem Freund, der Klaus Mann 1935 vorschlägt, einen Roman über einen »homosexuellen Karrieristen im dritten Reich« – Gustaf Gründgens – zu schreiben, entsteht im niederländischen Exil »Mephisto«. Klaus Mann will jedoch seine Geschichte als eine exemplarische verstanden wissen, als die Beschreibung des Aufstiegs eines Opportunisten, dem nicht nur das Obszöne, sondern auch das zwielichtig Schillernde und diabolisch Unwiderstehliche anhaftet wie der Titelfigur Mephisto selbst. Klaus Mann provoziert in seinem Roman die Frage nach den Möglichkeiten des Künstlers in einem repressiven System, nach der unheilvollen Verbindung von Kunst und Macht, von Freiheit und Verführbarkeit. Was ist der Wert, was sind Anspruch und Verantwortung des Künstlers in der Gesellschaft?
Die Geschichte um den begnadeten Mephisto-Darsteller Hendrik Höfgen, der durch seinen unbändigen Narzissmus und Ehrgeiz der Verführungskunst eines mephistophelischen Systems verfällt, schließt an Goethes »Faust« an, mit dem die Spielzeit 2013/14 am DNT eröffnet wurde, und führt gleichzeitig in die Vergangenheit des Deutschen Nationaltheaters. 

Robert Schuster inszeniert u.a. in Freiburg, Bremen und Frankfurt. Seit 2013 ist er Leiter der Regieabteilung der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst »Ernst Busch« Berlin.

 

Robert Schuster (Regie)
Sascha Gross (Bühne und Kostüme)
Nora Khuon (Dramaturgie)
Bahadir Hamdemir (Video)
zeitblom (Musik)

Besetzung

Johanna Geißler
Bernd Lange
Robert Schuster
Lutz Salzmann
Jonas Schlagowsky
Michael Wächter
Elke Wieditz