23 | 09 | 17

Calendar

E-Werk Kesselsaal
Premiere
15 | 11 | 2014
Duration
1 h 40 min
Age
16 and older

Dates

Anfahrt

Photos

Video

Tracy Letts

Killer Joe //

A totally twisted deep-fried texas redneck murder story

A trailer located on the outskirts of Dallas, Texas.

Life is already bleak here – but it can always get bleaker. In a small trailer, the alcoholic Ansel Smith and his new wife Sharla, who works at »Pizza Hut« live with Dottie, Ansel’s somewhat mentally challenged daughter. His son Chris, thrown out by his mother, shows up at his father’s doorstep. Chris can’t seem to get his life together, but at least he keeps an eye on his sister.

To make matters worse, Chris screwed up by dealing drugs, gambled and owes money to some really nasty thugs – either he pays up or else. Suddenly he hits upon the solution to all their problems – his mother has a life insurance policy, and if someone were to elegantly »do her in«, there would be a nice pay-off. He tells the others of his plan, and they – as long as they get their piece of the pie – have no problem with it. And so they hire the contract killer Joe Cooper – a professional in every way. And pricey. To keep him happy, they promise him Dottie as a »down payment«. But whoever deals with Joe Cooper ends up making a deal with the devil.

»Killer Joe« has played in 15 countries and in 12 languages, and was the breakthrough for the Chicago star playwright and actor Tracy Letts. Only an American can be so brutally crude, comical and psychologically sensitive to write such a piece. Tracy Letts, currently starring in the successful »Homeland« series, received the Pulitzer Prize for his play »August: Osage County« in 2008. With »Killer Joe« and the young Texan director Brian Bell, who is personally familiar with Tracy Letts’ world, we are bringing a bit of America to classical Weimar, served with Bloody Marys and burgers at the E-Werk.

23 | 06 | 17

Spielplan

E-Werk Kesselsaal
Premiere
15 | 11 | 14
Stückdauer
1 Std. 40 Min.
Alter
ab 16 Jahren

Termine

27 | 06 | 17 // 20.00 Uhr Karten

Anfahrt

Fotos

Video

Tracy Letts

Killer Joe //

A totally twisted deep-fried texas redneck murder story

»Du willst jemanden umbringen? Du kannst nicht mal die Uhr lesen.«

 

Ein Wohnwagen am Stadtrand von Dallas, Texas.

Hier ist schon Einiges den Bach runter, aber es geht noch mehr. Auf engem Raum leben Ansel Smith, Alkoholiker, seine neue Frau Sharla, Angestellte bei »Pizza Hut«, und Dottie, Ansels leicht zurückgebliebene Tochter. Sohn Chris, gerade bei der Mutter rausgeflogen, strandet auch wieder hier. Der kriegt auch sonst nix auf die Reihe, außer, dass er ein Auge auf die Schwester hat.

Und jetzt auch noch das: Drogen gedealt, Mist gebaut, verzockt und Schulden bei den ganz Bösen – das bedeutet Geld oder Leben. Da kommt Chris die rettende Idee: Mutter hat doch eine Lebensversicherung abgeschlossen, wenn man sie also elegant um die Ecke bringt, könnte echt was dabei rumkommen. Er weiht die anderen ein, die – sofern sie ein Stück vom Kuchen abbekommen – eigentlich keine Probleme sehen. Und so wird Killer Joe Cooper engagiert: ein Profi in jeder Hinsicht. Und teuer. Um ihn bei Laune zu halten, wird ihm Dottie als Vorauszahlung versprochen. Doch wer sich mit Joe Cooper einlässt, hat sich dem Teufel verschrieben.

»Killer Joe«, aufgeführt in 15 Ländern und 12 Sprachen, war der Durchbruch des Chicagoer Star-Autors und Schauspielers Tracy Letts. So brutal krude, humorvoll und gleichzeitig psychologisch zartfühlend kann eben nur ein Amerikaner sein. Tracy Letts, aktuell in der Erfolgsserie »Homeland« zu sehen, erhielt 2008 für sein Stück »August: Osage County« den Pulitzer-Preis. Mit »Killer Joe« und dem jungen, texanischen Regisseur Brian Bell, der Tracy Letts’ Lebenswelten sozusagen persönlich kennt, holen wir uns ein bisschen Amerika ins klassische Weimar und Bloody Mary & Burger ins E-Werk.

Erster Einblick gefällig?

Brian Bell (Regie)
Teresa Rinn (Bühne und Kostüme)
Julie Paucker (Dramaturgie)

Besetzung

Krunoslav Šebrek (Chris Smith)
Anna Windmüller (Sharla Smith, seine Stiefmutter)
Lutz Salzmann (Ansel Smith, Chris` Vater)
Nora Quest (Dotti Smith, Chris' Schwester)
Sebastian Kowski (Killer Joe Cooper)