25 | 11 | 17

Calendar

Hotel Elephant
Premiere
28 | 09 | 2014
Duration
1 h 15 min
Age
12 and older

Dates

19 | 12 | 2017 // 19.00 h Tickets
30 | 01 | 2018 // 19.00 h Tickets

Photos

based on the novel by Thomas Mann

Lotte in Weimar //

A project in cooperation with the Hotel Elephant

 

The year is 1816. Weimar is up in arms. Charlotte Kestner, née Buff, the archetype of Lotte in »Werther«, the youthful literary escapade by Germany’s prince of poets Goethe, has just arrived at the Hotel Elephant to visit ..., no, not the poet, but rather her dear relatives. But might there also be a spark of interest in what has become of that fiery poet who courted her 44 years ago? She is not the only one who is curious, though. The citizens of Weimar are anxiously awaiting a glimpse, or perhaps a chance to meet the lady who the »Master« had idolised as his muse years ago. And so she is met by a steady flow of people, all of whom are now apparently quite close to the world-famous man. They all want to speak about HIM, whom they adore and despise, whose greatness both ennobles and oppresses them. Instead of invoking a tender memory of her meeting with Goethe in all secrecy, Charlotte is forced to hear the confessions of her visitors.

Finally the much anticipated invitation to dinner arrives. But the reunion she has long dreamed of never takes place. The prince is merely holding court! And Charlotte Kestner discovers what she has long suspected – »A great man is a public burden«.

Thomas Mann’s novel impressively describes the atmosphere of the small German town of Weimar which feels beholden to greatness but can hardly bear the burden it brings. It also tells of the vain loneliness of the extraordinary German poet who will not tolerate anyone in his presence who is his equal, yet also despises closed-minded provinciality.

Our play will be performed where the action takes place – at the Hotel Elephant.

You want to stay at the same location? The Hotel Elephant offers a special package.

Hasko Weber (Regie)
Oliver Helf / Hasko Weber (Bühne)
Andrea Wöllner (Kostüme)
Beate Seidel (Dramaturgie)

Cast

Krunoslav Šebrek
Anna Windmüller

25 | 11 | 17

Spielplan

Hotel Elephant
Premiere
28 | 09 | 14
Stückdauer
1 Std. 15 Min.
Alter
ab 12 Jahren

Termine

19 | 12 | 17 // 19.00 Uhr Karten
30 | 01 | 18 // 19.00 Uhr Karten

Fotos

nach dem Roman von Thomas Mann

Lotte in Weimar //

Ein Projekt in Kooperation mit dem Hotel Elephant


»Eine Episode, versteht sich, hat an einer Heldin genug.«

1816. Weimar ist in Aufruhr: Charlotte Kestner, geborene Buff, die Urgestalt der Lotte im »Werther«, dem genialen literarischen Jugendstreich des Dichterfürsten Goethe, ist im Hotel Elephant eingetroffen, um …, nein, nicht um zuvörderst den Dichter selbst, sondern ihre teuren Anverwandten zu treffen. Aber vielleicht gibt es doch ein Fünkchen Interesse daran, was aus dem feurigen Poeten nach 44 Jahren geworden ist? Jedoch nicht nur sie ist neugierig. Auch die Weimarer stehen Schlange und versuchen, einen Blick auf die, wenn nicht gar ein Rendezvous mit der Dame zu erhaschen, die vor vielen Jahren die umschwärmte Muse des Meisters war. Und so schlagen diejenigen bei ihr auf, die dem weltberühmten Mann nun nahestehen. Sie alle wollen über IHN sprechen, den sie verehren und hassen, dessen Größe sie adelt und erdrückt. Anstatt in aller Heimlichkeit eine zarte Erinnerung auffrischen zu können, muss Charlotte ihren Besuchern die Beichte abnehmen.

Dann endlich kommt die erhoffte Einladung zum Dinner. Aber nicht die erträumte Wiederbegegnung findet statt. Der Fürst hält Hof! Und Charlotte Kestner erfährt, was sie schon ahnte: »Ein großer Mann ist ein öffentliches Unglück«.

Thomas Manns Roman beschreibt eindrücklich das Klima der deutschen Kleinstadt Weimar, die sich zu Großem berufen fühlt und Großes nur schwer erträgt, aber auch die eitle Einsamkeit des einzigartigen deutschen Dichters, der nichts neben sich dulden mag, was ihm ebenbürtig ist, engstirnige Provinzialität allerdings verachtet.

Wir spielen für Sie am Ort des Geschehens – im Hotel Elephant.

Sie möchten im gleichen Hotel übernachten? Das Hotel Elephant hält ein besonderes Angebot für Sie bereit.

Hasko Weber (Regie)
Oliver Helf / Hasko Weber (Bühne)
Andrea Wöllner (Kostüme)
Beate Seidel (Dramaturgie)