24 | 11 | 17

Calendar

ccn weimarhalle

Dates

Anfahrt

Photos

works by Franz Schreker, Karl Goldmark, Anton Webern, Morton Gould

2nd Symphony Concert //

Conductor: Stefan Solyom
Soloist: N.N., violin

 

Franz Schreker Prelude for a drama („The Branded“) for orchestra
Karl Goldmark Concerto for violin and orchestra a-minor op. 28
Anton Webern Symphony op. 21
Morton Gould Spirituals for String Choir and Orchestra

 

Created within 70 years of each other during the fin de siècle, the four orchestral works in the 2nd symphony concert represent pioneering pieces of musical modernity, yet possess the acoustic and formal elements of classical music.

Franz Schreker composed the »Prelude« from parts of his fourth major opera »Die Gezeichneten« (»The Branded«). It tells the story of a rich nobleman who resides in a palace of love on an island. Mysticism and eroticism characterise the voluptuous orchestral sound of the »prelude«. Incorporating glistening chords, harmonic fluctuation and gently floating melodies, Schreker artistically conjures an acoustic atmosphere which is reminiscent of late Romanticism.

The Concerto for Violin and Orchestra by the Hungarian composer Karl Goldmark features a masterful combination of marching and Polonaise figures as well as brilliant violin solos, which seem to sparkle thanks to Goldmark’s gift of lyrical melody.

In his symphony op. 21, Anton Webern presents his vision of »acoustic order«. Webern chose his material based on the principle of a »composition with twelve notes related only to one another«. Yet despite its complexity, the piece is remarkable for its calmness and solidity.

The American composer Morton Gould wrote his »Spirituals« in honour of African-American culture in his country. Even though the piece contains no authentic spiritual music from African-American culture, Gould incorporated numerous allusions to its blues, folklore and dance music.

17 | 10 | 17

Spielplan

ccn weimarhalle

Termine

Anfahrt

Fotos

Werke von Franz Schreker, Karl Goldmark, Anton Webern, Morton Gould

2. Sinfoniekonzert 2014/15 //

Dirigent: Stefan Solyom
Solist: Alena Baeva, Violine

 

Morton Gould Spirituals for String Choir and Orchestra
Karl Goldmark Konzert für Violine und Orchester a-Moll op. 28
Anton Webern Sinfonie op. 21
Franz Schreker Vorspiel zu einem Drama (»Die Gezeichneten«) für großes Orchester

 

Entstanden in einem Zeitraum von rund 70 Jahren im Umfeld des Fin de siècle, stellen alle vier Orchesterwerke im 2.Sinfoniekonzert Pionierstücke der musikalischen Moderne dar, die gleichsam klassische Klang- und Formelemente verwenden.

Franz Schreker komponierte sein »Vorspiel« aus Teilen seiner vierten großen Oper »Die Gezeichneten«. Sie erzählt die Ereignisse um einen reichen Edelmann, der auf einer Insel einen Liebespalast unterhält. Mystik und Erotik kennzeichnen auch den luxurierenden Orchesterklang des »Vorspiels«: In schillernden Akkorden, harmonischer Fluktuation und schwebend-einfühlsamen Melodien gelingt es Schreker, ein noch der Spätromantik verhaftetes Klangbild kunstvoll zu überhöhen.

Das Konzert für Violine und Orchester des ungarischen Komponisten Karl Goldmark zeichnet sich durch eine virtuose Verbindung aus Marsch- und Polonaise-Figuren sowie Violinsoli aus, die Goldmarks Gabe der lyrischen Melodie so unmittelbar aufleuchten lassen.

Anton Webern verfolgte in seiner Sinfonie op. 21 die Vision einer »klingenden Ordnung«: Sein Tonmaterial wählte er nach dem Prinzip der »Komposition mit zwölf nur aufeinanderbezogenen Tönen«, das trotz der Komplexität durch Ruhe und Festigkeit besticht.

Seine »Spirituals« schrieb der US-amerikanische Komponist Morton Gould als Hommage an die afro-amerikanische Kultur in seinem eigenen Land. Auch wenn keine geistliche Musik aus diesem Kulturkreis direkten Eingang fand, erklingen durchweg Anspielungen auf Blues, Folklore und Tanzmusik.