22 | 10 | 17

Calendar

Großes Haus
Premiere
12 | 09 | 2015
Duration
2 h 30 min
eine Pause

Dates

Anfahrt

Photos

Friedrich Schiller

Mary Stuart //

A death sentence lies on the table. The jury has passed its verdict on the Catholic Mary Stuart, Queen of the Scots: Guilty! That is, guilty of seeking to usurp the throne from Elizabeth I, Queen of England and violently overthrow her regime. Elizabeth must now sign the death sentence as the final instance, yet she wavers. After all, Mary fled to England seeking asylum. Persecuted in her own country by the Protestant nobility, she sought refuge with her cousin Elizabeth. Despite her dire situation, Mary shows no humility and doesn’t hesitate to assert her rightful claim to the English throne, which not only puts a strain on Elizabeth’s nerves, but causes the balance of power throughout Europe to teeter.

However, Mary not only poses a threat to Elizabeth’s reign, she also challenges her as a woman. Numerous men have fallen in love with her. They were even prepared to die for her and betray their house and family for the beautiful Scotswoman. The Queen of England must now take action. She is keenly aware that her powerful constituents are afraid. Violating any semblance of public law, she arrests Mary Stuart and takes her to trial in a dubious process.

»Mary Stuart«, which premiered for the first time in Weimar in 1800, storms the battlefield of politics, religion and eroticism. Two women, one imprisoned and the other dependent on the opinion of her people, both fight for independence. In this highly political conflict, we encounter a combination of privatism, desire, religion, the struggle for recognition and the appetite for power.

Director Markus Bothe opens the 2015/2016 season with this political thriller, a piece that Schiller inscribed with deep scepticism of the possibility of acting ethically.

24 | 11 | 17

Spielplan

Großes Haus
Premiere
12 | 09 | 15
Stückdauer
2 Std. 30 Min.
eine Pause

Termine

Anfahrt

Fotos

Texte

Friedrich Schiller

Maria Stuart //

»Der ist noch nicht König, der der Welt gefallen muss«

Ein Todesurteil liegt auf dem Tisch. Das Gericht erkennt die katholische ­Maria ­Stuart, Königin von Schottland, für schuldig: Schuldig, Elisabeth I., Königin von England, den Thron streitig zu machen und einen gewaltsamen Umsturz zu planen. Elisabeth ist dazu aufgefordert, das Urteil in letzter Instanz zu bestätigen. Doch sie wankt: Schließlich betrat ­Maria den englischen Boden als Schutzsuchende. In ihrem eigenen Land vom protestantischen Adel verfolgt, suchte sie ­Zuflucht bei ihrer Cousine Elisabeth. Trotz ihrer Lage kennt Maria keine Demut, ohne Scheu spricht sie ihre berechtigten Ansprüche auf den englischen Thron aus und legt damit nicht nur ­Elisabeths ­Nerven blank, sondern bringt das ganze europäische Kräftegleichgewicht in Bewegung. 

Doch Elisabeth verspürt die Bedrohung ­Marias nicht nur als Herrscherin, auch als Frau fühlt sie sich herausgefordert. Denn zahlreiche Männer verfallen ­Maria, sind bereit für sie zu sterben, verraten Haus und ­Familie für die schöne Schottin. Die Königin Englands steht unter ­Zugzwang. Die Angst der Mächtigen sitzt ihr in den Knochen. Unter Verstoß gegen jegliches Völkerrecht setzt sie Maria Stuart fest und macht ihr einen zwielichtigen Prozess.

»Maria Stuart«, 1800 in Weimar uraufgeführt, bearbeitet das Schlachtfeld von Politik, Religion und Erotik. Zwei Frauen, die eine in wirklicher Gefangenschaft, die andere abhängig von der Meinung ihres Volkes, kämpfen um Autonomie. In den hochpolitischen Konflikt mischen sich Privatismen, Begehren, Religion, das Ringen um Anerkennung und Machthunger.

Die Neuinszenierung dieses Polit-Thrillers, dem Schiller eine tiefe Skepsis über die Möglichkeit zu moralischem Handeln eingeschrieben hat, übernahm Markus Bothe.

 

Markus Bothe (Regie)
Robert Schweer (Bühne)
Justina Klimczyk (Kostüme)
Biber Gullatz (Musik)
Nora Khuon / Beate Seidel (Dramaturgie)


Besetzung


Nadja Robiné (Elisabeth, Königin von England)
Johanna Geißler (Maria Stuart, Königin von Schottland)
Max Landgrebe (Robert Dudley, Graf von Leicester)
Lutz Salzmann (Georg Talbot, Graf von Shrewsbury)
Sebastian Kowski (Wilhelm Cecil, Baron von Burleigh)
Thomas Kramer (Wilhelm Davison, Staatssekretär)
Christoph Heckel (Amas Paulet, Ritter, Hüter der Maria)
Jonas Schlagowsky (Mortimer, sein Neffe)