25 | 11 | 17

Calendar

E-Werk Maschinensaal
Premiere
17 | 09 | 2015
Duration
1 h 50 min

Dates

Anfahrt

Photos

A political satire by Jura Soyfer

Astoria //

Imagine if somewhere in the world there was a boundary between the realm of reality and the realm of fairy tales – and I inadvertently happened to take a walk along this boundary…

For Hupka the boundary separating reality and fairy tales is the same that separates Astoria from the rest of the world. Astoria is a state without land, created by Hupka for a minister without an office and his glamourous wife, the Countess Gwendolyn Buckelburg-Marasquino. But also made for himself, because Hupka has no money, no house, no job, no passport – and winter is coming.

Astoria is a success story – both in terms of media hype and economically. Everyone wants to go there. At the front gate of the Astorian embassy, refugees line up, dreaming of a paradise, a land of endless opportunities. People say that in Astoria the streets are heated so that the homeless don’t have to freeze. And everything is free – even the money.

But behind the facade, the utopia is crumbling. Where imagination, grandeur and a healthy dose of insanity once firmly held the sceptre, now pragmatism, greed and ideology gain the upper hand. Hupka is faced with his most difficult test.

Jura Soyfer was born in 1912 in Ukraine. As a child, he fled the terror of the Bolshevist Revolution, grew up in Vienna and later died at the Buchenwald concentration camp. He was of Jewish descent and had been an ardent supporter of Marxism for most of his all too short life. He wrote political treatises and plays which resemble works by Nestroy and Brecht. »Astoria«, written in 1937, can rightfully be described as visionary.

Corinna von Rad (director)
Ralf Käselau (stage design)
Sabine Blickenstorfer (costume design)
Biber Gullatz (music)
Brian Bell (choreography)
Julie Paucker (dramaturgy)
 

cast

Krunoslav Šebrek (Hupka)
Bastian Heidenreich (Pistoletti)
Dascha Trautwein (Gräfin Gwendolyn Buckelburg-Marasquino)
Bernd Lange (Graf Luitpold Buckelburg-Marasquino / Flüchtling)
Fridolin Sandmeyer (James)
Nora Quest (Rosa-Pauline, Lady P.)
Elke Wieditz (Großfürstin Anastasia)
Julius Kuhn (Lord R. / Flüchtling)
Nils Feldmann (Musiker)
Marcel Siegel (Musiker)
Cindy Weinhold (Musikerin)

23 | 10 | 17

Spielplan

E-Werk Maschinensaal
Premiere
17 | 09 | 15
Stückdauer
1 Std. 50 Min.

Termine

Anfahrt

Fotos

Eine Politsatire von Jura Soyfer

Astoria //

»Sind Sie von Natur heimatliebend?«

 

Wie wär’ es, wenn es irgendwo in der Welt eine Grenzlinie geben täte zwischen dem Reich der Wirklichkeit und dem Reich der Märchen – und wenn ich jetzt zufällig und ahnungslos auf dieser Grenzlinie herumspazieren täte …

Die Grenzlinie zwischen Wirklichkeit und Märchen wird für Hupka die Grenze zwischen Astoria und dem Rest der Welt. Astoria ist ein Staat ohne Land, erfunden von Hupka für einen Minister ohne Amt und dessen glamouröse Gattin, die Gräfin Gwendolyn Buckelburg-Marasquino. Aber auch für sich selbst, denn Hupka hat kein Geld, kein Haus, keine Arbeit, keinen Pass; und der Winter kommt.

Astoria wird eine Erfolgsgeschichte – medial und ökonomisch. Alle wollen hin, vor den Toren der astorischen Botschaft träumen die Flüchtlinge vom Schlaraffenland, vom Land der unendlichen Möglichkeiten. In Astoria, so heißt es, sind die Straßen geheizt, damit die Obdachlosen nicht frieren. Und alles ist gratis. Sogar das Geld.

Doch hinter der Mauer bröckelt die Utopie, und wo Fantasie, Grandezza und eine gesunde Portion Irrsinn das Zepter in der Hand hielten, übernehmen Pragmatismus, Raffgier und Ideologie. Hupka steht vor seiner schwersten Prüfung.

Jura Soyfer, geboren 1912 in der ­Ukraine, als Kind geflohen vor der Bolschewistischen Revolution, aufgewachsen in Wien und umgekommen 1939 im KZ Buchenwald, war jüdischer Abstammung und Zeit seines allzu kurzen Lebens überzeugter Marxist. Er schrieb politische Schriften und Stücke, die irgendwo zwischen Nestroy und Brecht einzuordnen sind. »Astoria«, 1937 geschrieben, kann visionär genannt werden.

 

Corinna von Rad (Regie)
Ralf Käselau (Bühne)
Sabine Blickenstorfer (Kostüme)
Biber Gullatz (Musikalische Leitung)
Brian Bell (Choreografische Mitarbeit)
Julie Paucker (Dramaturgie)
 

Besetzung

Krunoslav Šebrek (Hupka)
Bastian Heidenreich (Pistoletti)
Dascha Trautwein (Gräfin Gwendolyn Buckelburg-Marasquino)
Bernd Lange (Graf Luitpold Buckelburg-Marasquino / Flüchtling)
Fridolin Sandmeyer (James)
Nora Quest (Rosa-Pauline, Lady P.)
Elke Wieditz (Großfürstin Anastasia)
Julius Kuhn (Lord R. / Flüchtling)
Nils Feldmann (Musiker)
Marcel Siegel (Musiker)
Cindy Weinhold (Musikerin)