25 | 11 | 17

Calendar

Großes Haus
Premiere
02 | 12 | 2016
Duration
1 h 30 min

Dates

Anfahrt

Photos

by Sophocles

Antigone //

What is more important – following the laws of the state or one’s principles? And who decides on what is right and wrong – a common book of laws or one’s moral compass?

Even Oedipus’s children cannot escape the repercussions of familial guilt. The brothers Polynices and Eteocles are dead, killing each other in battle for the throne of Thebes. Now the two sisters Antigone and Ismene are left behind. The war is over and Creon, their uncle, assumes power. Creon blames Polynices for the military conflict and declares him a traitor who brought ruin to his home city. He issues a decree forbidding the burial of Polynices’ corpse – effectively barring him from entering the realm of the dead. While Ismene complies with Creon’s law, Antigone defies it: she buries Polynices under penalty of death. Justice for her dead brother is more sacred to her than the law of the living. Antigone takes responsibility for her actions – and thus seals her fate. Is this an example of true freedom of action?

 

In this tragedy Sophocles explores the conflict between the law of the state and human rights, between the political and the private sphere. The relentlessness of the mourning sisters casts the statesman Creon into a dilemma.

Alice Buddeberg’s production featuring one of the most extraordinary female characters in theatre is her third at the DNT after Shakespeare’s »Twelfth Night« and the stage adaptation of Kleist’s novella »The Earthquake in Chili«. She has directed plays at numerous theatres in Germany including the Deutsches Schauspielhaus Hamburg, Schauspiel Frankfurt, Theaterhaus Jena and the Theater Bonn, where she served as in-house director from 2013 to 2016.

22 | 06 | 17

Spielplan

Großes Haus
Premiere
02 | 12 | 16
Stückdauer
1 Std. 30 Min.

Termine

Anfahrt

Fotos

Sophokles

Antigone //

Was zählt mehr – das Gesetz des Staates oder das eigene? Und wer entscheidet über Recht und Unrecht – allgemeingültiges Gesetzbuch oder persönliches Gefühl?

Auch Ödipus’ Kinder entkommen dem Schicksal der Familienschuld nicht: Die beiden Brüder Polyneikes und Eteokles sind tot. Sie starben im Kampf um den Thron der Stadt Theben durch die Hand des jeweils Anderen. Zurück bleiben die beiden Schwestern Antigone und Ismene. Nun ist der Krieg vorbei und Kreon, ihr Onkel, übernimmt die Macht. Kreon erklärt Polyneikes zum alleinig Schuldigen des kriegerischen Konflikts, zum Staatsverräter, der die eigene Heimatstadt ins Unglück stürzte. Polyneikes’ Leichnam darf nicht begraben werden. Damit bleibt ihm der Eingang ins Totenreich für immer verwehrt. Während Ismene sich Kreons Gesetz fügt, widersetzt sich Antigone. Sie begräbt Polyneikes, obwohl darauf die Todesstrafe steht. Das Recht des toten Bruders gilt für sie mehr als das Gesetz der Lebenden.

Antigone übernimmt die Verantwortung für ihr Handeln – und macht sich damit zur Todgeweihten. Liegt darin die tatsächliche Freiheit des Handelns?

Sophokles entfaltet in seiner Tragödie den Konflikt zwischen Staats- und Menschenrecht, zwischen Politischem und Privatem. Die Unbedingtheit der trauernden Schwester stürzt den Staatsmann Kreon in eine Krise.

Alice Buddebergs Auseinandersetzung mit einer der außergewöhnlichsten weiblichen Theaterfiguren überhaupt ist bereits ihre dritte Arbeit am DNT nach Shakes­peares »Was ihr wollt« und Kleists Novelle »Das Erdbeben in Chili«. Sie inszenierte u. a. am Deutschen Schauspielhaus Hamburg, am Schauspiel Frankfurt, am Theaterhaus Jena und am Theater Bonn, an dem sie von 2013 bis 2016 Haus­regisseurin war.

Besetzung

Nora Quest (Antigone)
Sebastian Nakajew (Kreon)
Katharina Hackhausen (Ismene)
Julius Kuhn (Haimon)
Christoph Heckel (Wächter / Bote)
Jonas Schlagowsky (Toter Bruder / Chor)
Erik Born (Eteokles)