22 | 07 | 17

Calendar

Großes Haus
Premiere
29 | 04 | 2017
Duration
2 h 45 min
eine Pause

Dates

05 | 10 | 2017 // 19.30 h Tickets
22 | 10 | 2017 // 16.00 h Tickets
24 | 11 | 2017 // 19.30 h Tickets
13 | 01 | 2018 // 19.30 h Tickets
26 | 01 | 2018 // 19.30 h Tickets

Anfahrt

Photos

by George Tabori

Goldberg Variations //

German translation by Ursula Grützmacher-Tabori

The curtain rises on the Biblical world stage, presented by the great theatre master George Tabori. The director Mr. Jay, YAWEH or simply LORD, and his Jewish assistant Goldberg plan to stage a production of the Book of Books. According to the script, they have exactly seven days to create their masterpiece. Not very long to develop the perfect performance! Mishaps are bound to happen, especially in view of the fact that Mr. Jay ambitiously models everything after himself – from the story of Genesis to the Passion. And Goldberg does the work.

What starts as a joint production develops into a fast-paced duel between the director and his assistant, GOD and the SON OF MAN. In the end, who nails whom to the Cross? And that to the sound of divine music! The Goldberg Variations by Johann Sebastian Bach ... Or the world will end!

George Tabori is among the most influential theatre artists of the late 20th century. He is known for laconically portraying world history as a conversation piece, set ablaze under the acerbic humour of his characters. In his view, such humour enables one to bear the catastrophes of the past and future much better.

Thomas Dannemann, who invited us to rediscover Dürrenmatt’s »Romulus the Great« last season, will stage this witty, intelligently written drama.

Thomas Dannemann (Regie)
Oliver Helf (Bühne)
Regine Standfuss (Kostüme)
Philipp Haagen (Musik)
Bahadir Hamdemir (Video)
Beate Seidel (Dramaturgie)

Cast

Simone Müller
Johanna Geißler
Dascha Trautwein
Nahuel Häfliger
Bastian Heidenreich
Sebastian Kowski
Thomas Kramer
Bernd Lange
Philipp Haagen

26 | 05 | 17

Spielplan

Großes Haus
Premiere
29 | 04 | 17

Termine

10 | 06 | 17 // 19.30 Uhr Karten
24 | 06 | 17 // 19.30 Uhr Karten
05 | 10 | 17 // 19.30 Uhr
22 | 10 | 17 // 16.00 Uhr
24 | 11 | 17 // 19.30 Uhr Karten
13 | 01 | 18 // 19.30 Uhr
26 | 01 | 18 // 19.30 Uhr Karten

Anfahrt

Fotos

George Tabori

Die Goldberg-Variationen //

Deutsch von Ursula Grützmacher-Tabori

Im biblischem Welttheater von Theateraltmeister George Tabori hebt sich der ­Vorhang. Der Regisseur Mr. Jay, JAHWE oder einfach nur HERR, und sein Assistent, der Jude Goldberg, setzen das Buch der ­Bücher in Szene. Sie haben, wie das Drehbuch es vorschreibt, genau sieben Tage Zeit für ihre Schöpfung. Nicht viel, um eine perfekte Inszenierung hinzubekommen! Pannen sind also Programm! Denn Mr. Jay modeliert ehrgeizig alles – ­von der Genesis bis zur Passionsgeschichte – nach seinem Maß. Und Goldberg macht die Arbeit.

Was als gemeinsame Inszenierung be­ginnt, mündet in einen rasanten Zweikampf zwischen Regisseur und Assistent, GOTT und dem ­MENSCHENSOHN: Wer schlägt am Ende wen ans Kreuz? Und dazu klingt göttliche Musik! Die ­Goldberg-Variationen von Johann Sebastian Bach ... Oder die Welt geht unter!

George Tabori gehört zu den wichtigsten Theatermachern des ausgehenden 20. Jahrhunderts. Lakonisch macht er aus der Weltgeschichte einen Konversationsgegenstand, an dem sich der bissige Witz seiner Figuren entzündet. Die Katastrophen, überstandene und zukünftige, lassen sich so, das ist seine Überzeugung, besser ertragen.

Thomas Dannemann, der in der vergangenen Spielzeit »Romulus der Große« von Dürrenmatt für das Theater neu entdeckt hat, wird diesen pointenreichen, klugen Theatertext inszenieren.

Thomas Dannemann (Regie)
Oliver Helf (Bühne)
Regine Standfuss (Kostüme)
Philipp Haagen (Musik)
Bahadir Hamdemir (Video)
Beate Seidel (Dramaturgie)