21 | 11 | 17

Calendar

E-Werk Maschinensaal
Premiere
08 | 09 | 2013
Duration
1 h 45 min
Age
16 and older

Dates

Anfahrt

Photos

based on the novel by Christoph Hein

Weiskerns Nachlass //

World Premiere // Stager Adaptation by Julie Paucker and Enrico Stolzenburg

 

Rüdiger Stolzenburg is 59 years old and a rather popular lecturer at the Institute of Cultural Studies in Leipzig. He still succeeds in impressing his students – and particularly his female students, who occasionally approach him with unambiguous offers which he gently turns down with a smile. After all, he has his principles. His current life partner (relationships lasting longer than six months are tedious to him) is young, attractive and nice – he really likes her. And his favourite research project about the cartographer and Mozart librettist Friedrich Wilhelm Weiskern is on the verge of a breakthrough as he has just stumbled across letters that no one knew about.
This is how Stolzenburg sees life in his more optimistic hours.
But every so often, he is befallen by the suspicion that the things he had hoped to achieve in his life and career in the past will never happen. For the past 15 years, he’s been waiting for the Institute to convert his part-time post into a full-time position, but unfortunately it looks like more budget cuts are in the pipeline. No one seems interested in his Weiskern project and there is a chance that the discovered letters are a forgery. And Henriette, the only woman with whom he could imagine a longer-term relationship, is keeping her distance.
Suddenly events come to a head. Stolzenburg gets tangled up in a criminal investigation, with attempted bribery, violence on the street, debt reclamation. He is suddenly in serious danger of slipping into poverty and facing old age alone. Is this the result of personal failure, a chain of unfortunate coincidences or simply bad luck? Or has something imperceptibly changed in society and Stolzenburg is only one of many who cannot roll with the punches?
With his characteristic sangfroid, Christoph Hein spectacularly portrays the unspectacular life of Rüdiger Stolzenburg and outlines the résumé of an (East) German academic whose apparent mediocrity is ultimately the result of historic upheaval. Stolzenburg is the prototypical representative of a growing academic precariat. He is the sobering, contemporary response to Faust.

Enrico Stolzenburg has directed in Berlin, Berne, Constance, Freiburg and Magdeburg. His projects have taken him to numerous theatres and festivals abroad, including Strasbourg, Miryang/South Korea, Osaka, Athens and Helsinki. His main focus is on the development of new plays and world premieres in dramatic and music theatre. In 2003, he directed Heiner Müller’s »Quartet« at the DNT. As an in-house director at the DNT, he will also be directing »Schwarze Bären« (Black Bears) in the coming season.

 

Enrico Stolzenburg (director)
Katrin Hieronimus (stage desing and cotumes)
Kirsten Reese (sound design)
Julie Paucker (dramaturgy)

cast

Ingolf Müller-Beck (Rüdiger Stolzenburg)
Bernd Lange (Frieder Schlösser)
Sebastian Nakajew (Klemens Gaede)
Nadja Robiné (Patrizia)
Tobias Schormann (Sebastian Hollert)
Anna Windmüller (Marion)
(Daphne Auer, Helena Hanneder, Cora Kneisz, Madleen Singer / D.A.S. Jugendtheater e.V. im stellwerk)
(Helene Engler, Florentine Heidel, Sophia Reiser / Statisterie des DNT)

17 | 12 | 17

Spielplan

E-Werk Maschinensaal
Premiere
08 | 09 | 13
Stückdauer
1 Std. 45 Min.
Alter
ab 16 Jahren

Termine

Anfahrt

Fotos

Texte

nach dem Roman von Christoph Hein

Weiskerns Nachlass //

Uraufführung // Bühnenfassung von Julie Paucker und Enrico Stolzenburg

 

„Die Hiobsbotschaften der letzten Wochen, dachte er, waren ausreichend, nach dem Gesetz der Serie müsste langsam irgendwo Land zu sehen sein.“

 

Rüdiger Stolzenburg ist 59 Jahre alt. Er ist ein recht beliebter Dozent am kulturwissenschaftlichen Institut in Leipzig, und schafft es immer noch, seine Studenten – und Studentinnen – zu beeindrucken, ja manch unzweideutiges Angebot musste er schon lächelnd abwehren; er hat noch seine Ideale. Die aktuelle Lebensabschnittspartnerin (Bindungen, die länger als sechs Monate dauern, sind ihm lästig) ist jung, attraktiv und nett, er mag sie wirklich. Und mit seinem Lieblingsforschungsprojekt über den Kartografen und Mozart-Librettisten Friedrich Wilhelm Weiskern könnte ihm demnächst der Durchbruch gelingen, denn plötzlich sind Briefe aufgetaucht, von denen keiner wusste.
So sieht es Stolzenburg in seinen optimistischeren Stunden.
Dann wieder drängt sich ihm der Verdacht auf, dass das, was bisher in seinem Leben und in seiner Karriere nicht passiert ist, jetzt auch nicht mehr kommt. Seit 15 Jahren wartet er darauf, dass seine halbe Dozenten-Stelle in eine Ganze umgewandelt wird; leider stehen die Zeichen am Institut aber eher auf Kürzungen. Für seinen Weiskern interessiert sich im Grunde keiner und hinter den Briefen könnte ein Betrug stecken. Henriette, die einzige Frau seit langem, die längerfristig in Frage käme, bleibt auf Distanz.
Etwas spitzt sich zu: Plötzlich hat Stolzenburg mit einem Kriminalfall zu tun, mit Bestechungsversuchen, mit Gewalt auf der Straße, mit Geldforderungen, er läuft Gefahr, definitiv in die Armut abzurutschen, alleine alt zu werden – handelt es sich um persönliches Versagen, eine Verkettung negativer Zufälle, um eine Pechsträhne? Oder hat sich da in der Gesellschaft etwas unmerklich verschoben und Stolzenburg ist nur einer von Vielen, die nicht mehr mitkommen?
Mit der für ihn typischen Gelassenheit schildert Christoph Hein das spektakulär unspektakuläre Leben Rüdiger Stolzenburgs und zeichnet damit den Verlauf einer (ost-)deutschen Gelehrten-Biografie, deren scheinbare Mittelmäßigkeit nicht zuletzt die Folge historischer Verwerfungen ist. Stolzenburg ist der prototypische Vertreter eines wachsenden akademischen Prekariats. Er ist die ernüchternde, aktuelle Antwort auf Faust.

Enrico Stolzenburg inszenierte u.a. in Berlin, Bern, Konstanz, Freiburg und Magdeburg. Seine Arbeiten führten ihn auch mehrfach ins Ausland, etwa zu Festivals in Strasbourg und Miryang/Südkorea, nach Osaka, Athen und Helsinki. Einen Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit bilden Uraufführungen und Stückentwicklungen im Schauspiel und auch im Musiktheater. Am DNT inszenierte er bereits 2003 Heiner Müllers »Quartett«. Als Hausregisseur führt er in dieser Spielzeit außerdem Regie bei »Schwarze Bären«.

 

Enrico Stolzenburg (Regie)
Katrin Hieronimus (Bühne und Kostüme)
Kirsten Reese (Klanggestaltung)
Julie Paucker (Dramaturgie)

Besetzung

Ingolf Müller-Beck (Rüdiger Stolzenburg)
Bernd Lange (Frieder Schlösser)
Sebastian Nakajew (Klemens Gaede)
Nadja Robiné (Patrizia)
Tobias Schormann (Sebastian Hollert)
Anna Windmüller (Marion)
(Daphne Auer, Helena Hanneder, Cora Kneisz, Madleen Singer / D.A.S. Jugendtheater e.V. im stellwerk)
(Helene Engler, Florentine Heidel, Sophia Reiser / Statisterie des DNT)