24 | 11 | 17

Calendar

Großes Haus

Dates

Anfahrt

Filmconcert „Der Rosenkavalier“ //

In commemoration of the 150th anniversary of Richard Strauss

 

Silent film with live musical accompaniment

Director: Robert Wiene (Austria, 1926) · Music by Richard Strauss

 

Under the reign of Maria Theresia, Austria’s nobility are entwined in an emotional game of confusion. In preparation for his marriage to Sophie, Baron Ochs von Lerchenau wishes to find a nobleman who will give a silver rose to his bride according to ancient tradition. He asks his cousin and wife of the field marshal Lady Werdenberg for advice, who recommends her lover Count Octavian. But the moment Octavian gazes at Sophie, both fall head over heels in love, which inevitably sets a bonfire of emotions alight as Octavian tries to prevent Sophie’s betrothal to the Baron with every means possible.

The cinematic version of the »Rosenkavalier« from 1925 is the most spectacular and – unsurprisingly – the most musically sophisticated piece of operatic cinema of the silent film era. The film producers were able to enlist the experienced director Robert Wiene as well as several of the best-known actors of that era. Wiene developed the script and directed the film in collaboration with Hugo von Hofmannsthal, who wrote the libretto of the stage version. As for Richard Strauss, he not only allowed Wiene to use his original opera music for the film, but personally assisted with adapting the opera for cinematic use.

Because the composition was the basis for the film project, the film strictly adheres to the opera’s musical sequence. Though the cinematic version of the „Rosenkavalier" offers specific nuances of its own, it essentially follows the narrative of the opera and preserves its humour and ironic »punch lines«. The completely homogenous teamwork was enhanced further by the film set designer Alfred Roller, who had also designed the set for the world premiere of the opera in Dresden 15 years earlier. Frank Strobel conducted the new production of the restored film classic at the Semperoper in 2006 – an event the newspaper DIE WELT hailed as an »unexpected sensation«.

FILMPHILHARMONIC EDITION
Film with the consent of Filmarchiv Austria,
Musik with the consent of Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG.

 

Frank Strobel (Dirigent)

18 | 12 | 17

Spielplan

Großes Haus

Termine

Anfahrt

Filmkonzert „Der Rosenkavalier“ //

zum 150. Geburtstag von Richard Strauss

 

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Europäischen FilmPhilharmonie

Konzerteinführung um 18.45 Uhr im Foyer

 

Ein emotionales Verwirrspiel in den Adelskreisen Österreichs zur Zeit Maria Theresias: Baron Ochs von Lerchenau sucht für seine bevorstehende Hochzeit mit Sophie einen Adligen, der der Braut nach alter Sitte am Hochzeitstag eine silberne Rose überreicht. Er bittet seine Cousine, die Feldmarschallin Fürstin Werdenberg um Rat, die ihm ihren Geliebten Graf Octavian empfiehlt. Als dieser jedoch Sophie erblickt, verlieben die beiden sich Hals über Kopf ineinander, womit das emotionale Verwirrspiel seinen Lauf nimmt, denn Octavian versucht nun mit allen Mitteln, Sophies Hochzeit mit dem Baron zu verhindern.

Die 1925 entstandene Filmversion des »Rosenkavalier« ist die spektakulärste und – wen wundert’s! – musikalisch hochwertigste Opernverfilmung der Stummfilmära, für die der etablierte Regisseur Robert Wiene sowie einige der bekanntesten Schauspielerinnen und Schauspieler jener Zeit gewonnen werden konnten. Wiene entwickelte Drehbuch und Regie in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Hugo von Hofmannsthal, dem Librettisten der Bühnenfassung, und Richard Strauss stimmte der Verwendung seiner originalen Opernmusik nicht nur zu, sondern beteiligte sich sogar an deren Umarbeitung für die Bedürfnisse des Kinos.

Da die Komposition Ausgangspunkt der Arbeit war, ist der Film ganz auf den musikalischen Ablauf zugeschnitten. Die Leinwandfassung folgt damit in ihren Grundzügen der Opernhandlung und bewahrt sich vor allem deren Witz und ironischen Pointenreichtum – nicht ohne dennoch ganz individuelle Nuancen zu setzen. Für eine komplett homogene Teamarbeit sorgten schließlich die Filmdekors von Alfred Roller, der fünfzehn Jahre zuvor bereits die Uraufführung der Oper in Dresden ausgestattet hatte. An der Semperoper fand unter der Leitung von Frank Strobel 2006 auch die Wiederaufführung des rekonstruierten Films statt, die die Zeitung DIE WELT als »unverhoffte Sensation« feierte.

FILMPHILHARMONIC EDITION
Film mit Genehmigung vom Filmarchiv Austria,
Musik mit Genehmigung der Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG.

 

Frank Strobel (Dirigent)