23 | 11 | 17

Calendar

Großes Haus
Premiere
11 | 10 | 2013
Duration
3 h 0 min

Dates

Anfahrt

Photos

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

The Abduction from the Seraglio //

Singspiel in three movements · text by Johann Gottlieb Stephanie the Younger based on a libretto by Christoph Friedrich Bretzner

 

“I changed the “whee” to “fast”, as in: “Yet how fast my joy faded, etc.” I don’t know what our German poets are thinking; if they don’t understand theatre with regard to opera then they should at least make sure people don’t talk as if they’re in the company of swine – whee piggy!”

 

Leopold Mozart was probably accustomed to such silly excurses as this one in his son’s letter of 1781. Yet Wolfgang Amadeus took the criticism seriously which his librettist reaped for his »Abduction from the Seraglio«. He even moved to Vienna in hopes of receiving the commission for an opera from the emperor. He proposed a German singspiel for the newly established “Deutsches Nationaltheater« in Vienna. Obviously, he valued linguistic finesse and the precision of characterisation in the figures.

Konstanze is the one who sings of her fast-fading joy. Abducted to the court of Bassa Selim together with her maid Blonde and her friend Pedrillo, she is pressured by Selim to grant him her love. Belmonte, who wants to help her escape, learns from Pedrillo that his fiancée is betrothed to Bassa. Pedrillo, on the other hand, must fight the guard Osmin, who intends to steal his Blonde from him.

Instead of centring on the abduction as the dramatic moment of the piece, Mozart focuses instead on the fragility of the relationships. The secret rendezvous of the two couples shortly before they attempt to escape is overshadowed by jealousy and doubt, which shakes the foundation of their love, confronted with a foreign environment and a different world view. From there, Mozart crafts a gripping story using a good dose of irony and entertaining drama. A slap in the face is proof of fidelity before Osmin drives them into the arms of Selim, who generously grants them their freedom. However, through it all, he himself is never allowed to sing.

Goethe had attempted to compose a singspiel himself, but later confessed: »All our efforts to produce something ourselves in simple and limited form were lost when Mozart arrived on the scene. The ›Abduction from the Seraglio‹ crushed everything.« What Goethe lamented is what made »Il Saraglio« Mozart’s greatest triumph.

Elisabeth Stöppler has worked in Linz, Nuremberg, Oldenburg, Hamburg, Frankfurt, Hannover and Heidelberg. In 2009, she received the Götz Friedrich Award and the NRW Promotion Prize for directing Benjamin Britten’s »Peter Grimes«. She has been directing at the Semperoper in Dresden on a regular basis since 2010/11. Her most recent production was Henze’s »We Come to the River«.


Stefan Klingele/ Martin Virin (conductor)
Elisabeth Stöppler (director)
Karoly Risz (stage design)
Frank Lichtenberg (costumes)
Martina Stüz (dramaturgy)

cast

Sebastian Campione, Daeyoung Kim (Osmin)
Jörn Eichler (Pedrillo)
Paul Enke (Selim)
Jaesig Lee (Belmonte)
Steffi Lehmann (Blonde)
Heike Porstein (Konstanze)

23 | 10 | 17

Spielplan

Großes Haus
Premiere
11 | 10 | 13
Stückdauer
3 Std. 0 Min.

Termine

Anfahrt

Fotos

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Die Entführung aus dem Serail //

Singspiel in drei Aufzügen · Text von Johann Gottlieb Stephanie dem Jüngeren nach einem Libretto von Christoph Friedrich Bretzner

 

„Das ‚hui‘ habe ich in ‚schnell‘ verändert, also: ‚Doch wie schnell schwand meine Freude etc.‘ Ich weiß nicht, was sich unsere teutsche Dichter denken; wenn sie schon das Theater nicht verstehen, was die Oper anbelangt, so sollen sie doch wenigstens die Leute nicht reden lassen, als wenn Schweine vor ihnen stünden: hui Sau!“

 

Den albernden Tonfall seines Sohnes dürfte Leopold Mozart gewohnt gewesen sein, als er dessen Briefzeilen 1781 erhielt. Ernst hatte Mozart die Kritik am Librettisten der »Entführung aus dem Serail« allerdings gemeint, war er doch extra nach Wien gezogen, in der Hoffnung vom Kaiser den Auftrag für eine Oper zu erhalten. Ein deutsches Singspiel sollte es denn sein fürs neu gegründete »Deutsche Nationaltheater« in Wien. Auf sprachliche Finesse und genaue Zeichnung der Figuren legte er also großen Wert.

Es ist Konstanze, die vom Schwinden ihrer Freude singt. Mit ihrer Zofe Blonde und deren Freund Pedrillo an den Hof des Bassa Selim verschleppt, wird sie von Selim gedrängt, ihm ihre Liebe zu schenken. Belmonte, der ihr zur Flucht verhelfen will, erfährt von Pedrillo, dass seine Verlobte dem Bassa versprochen ist. Pedrillo wiederum hat mit dem Aufseher Osmin zu kämpfen, der ihm seine Blonde streitig macht.

Statt die Entführungsaktion als dramatisches Kernstück einzusetzen, rückt Mozart die Fragilität der Beziehungen in den Mittelpunkt. Das heimliche Treffen der beiden Paare kurz vor dem Fluchtversuch wird überschattet von Eifersucht und Zweifel, die ihre Liebe, konfrontiert mit einer fremden Welt und Weltanschauung, erschüttert haben. Mit Ironie und Lust am Spiel wusste Mozart alles Weitere einzufädeln: Eine Ohrfeige beweist wahre Treue, bevor die Paare von Osmin in die Arme Selims getrieben werden, der jedoch Großzügigkeit walten lässt und allen die Freiheit schenkt. Selbst darf er dabei allerdings nie singen.

»Alles unser Bemühen daher, uns im Einfachen und Beschränkten abzuschließen, ging verloren, als Mozart auftrat. Die ›Entführung aus dem Serail‹ schlug alles nieder.« Was Goethe, der sich selbst in der Dichtung von Singspielen versucht hatte, moniert, machte die »Entführung« zu Mozarts größtem Erfolg.

Elisabeth Stöppler arbeitete u.a. in Linz, Nürnberg, Oldenburg, Hamburg, Frankfurt, Hannover und Heidelberg. Für ihre Inszenierung von Benjamin Brittens »Peter Grimes« erhielt sie 2009 den Götz-Friedrich-Preis und den Förderpreis NRW. Seit 2010/11 inszeniert sie regelmäßig an der Semperoper Dresden, zuletzt Henzes »Wir erreichen den Fluß«.
 

Stefan Klingele/ Martin Virin (Musikalische Leitung)
Elisabeth Stöppler (Regie)
Karoly Risz (Bühne)
Frank Lichtenberg (Kostüme)
Martina Stütz (Dramaturgie)

Besetzung

Sebastian Campione, Daeyoung Kim (Osmin)
Jörn Eichler (Pedrillo)
Paul Enke (Selim)
Jaesig Lee (Belmonte)
Steffi Lehmann (Blonde)
Heike Porstein (Konstanze)