17 | 11 | 17

staatskapelle

Kirill Karabits

The Ukrainian-born conductor Kirill Karabits joined the Deutsches Nationaltheater and Staatskapelle Weimar as General Music Director and Principal Conductor in September 2016. He can look back on a successful first season in Weimar with highly acclaimed concerts, his well-received interpretation of Wagner’s »Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg« and performances of C.P.E. Bach’s »St. John’s Passion«. In 2017/18, he will be conducting new productions of Mozart’s »Le Nozze di Figaro« and Wagner’s »Tannhäuser«, along with six subscription concerts, a special concert for the Kunstfest Weimar and the New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day concerts. He will also be travelling with the Staatskapelle Weimar for guest concerts in Chorin, Sion, Erfurt, Wiesbaden, Munich and on a US tour.

Karabits continues to work with the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra as Chief Conductor, a position he has held since 2008. The highlights of their joint collaboration include a tour through Germany, regular appearances at the BBC Proms at the Royal Albert Hall, as well as the critically acclaimed recording of a Prokofiev symphony cycle. In recognition of his work in Great Britain, Karabits was named »Conductor of the Year« at the Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards in 2013.

Karabits has worked with many of the leading ensembles of Europe, Asia and North America, including the Chicago, Cleveland, Philadelphia and San Francisco Symphony Orchestras, Philharmonia Orchestra, Rotterdam Philharmonic, Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra, Orchestra Filarmonica del Teatro La Fenice, the BBC Symphony Orchestra and the Russian National Orchestra.

A prolific opera conductor, Karabits has conducted at the Glyndebourne Festival Opera (»La Bohème«, »Eugene Onegin«), English National Opera (»Don Giovanni«), Bolshoi Theatre, Wagner Geneva Festival (»The Flying Dutchman«), Hamburger Staatsoper (»Madama Butterfly«) and Theater Basel (»Khovanschina«). In 2017, he made his debuts at the Oper Stuttgart (»Death in Venice«) and at the Deutsche Oper Berlin (»Boris Godunov«).

Working with the next generation of bright musicians is of great importance to Karabits. He is Artistic Director of I, CULTURE Orchestra, comprised of outstanding young Polish and Eastern European musicians, whom he accompanied on a European tour in August 2015. In 2012 and 2014 he conducted the finals of the BBC Young Musician of the Year Award.

17 | 12 | 17

Staatskapelle Weimar

Kirill Karabits

Der aus der Ukraine stammende Dirigent Kirill Karabits ist seit September 2016 Generalmusikdirektor und Chefdirigent des Deutschen Nationaltheaters und der Staatskapelle Weimar. In seiner ersten Saison feierte er hier Erfolge mit mehreren Konzerten, seiner Interpretation von Wagners Oper »Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg« und Aufführungen der »Johannes-Passion« von C.P.E. Bach. In der Spielzeit 2017/18 übernimmt er die musikalische Leitung der Neuinszenierungen von Mozarts »Die Hochzeit des Figaro« und Wagners »Tannhäuser«. Zudem dirigiert er sechs Sinfoniekonzerte, ein Sonderkonzert im Rahmen des Kunstfest Weimar, die traditionellen Konzerte zum Jahreswechsel sowie Gastkonzerte der Staatskapelle Weimar in Chorin, Sion, Erfurt, Wiesbaden, München und im Rahmen einer USA-Tournee.

Parallel ist Kirill Karabits weiterhin Chefdirigent des Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, das er seit 2008 erfolgreich leitet. Höhepunkte der gemeinsamen Arbeit waren u.a. eine Deutschland-Tournee, regelmäßige Konzerte bei den BBC Proms und in der Royal Albert Hall sowie die CD-Einspielung aller Sinfonien von Prokofjew. In Anerkennung seines Wirkens in Großbritannien wurde er 2013 von der Royal Philharmonic Society zum Dirigenten des Jahres gewählt.

Karabits hat mit vielen bedeutenden Orchestern in Europa, Asien und Nord-Amerika gearbeitet, darunter das Chicago, Cleveland, Philadelphia und San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, das Philharmonia Orchestra, die Rotterdam Philharmonic, das Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra, das Orchestra Filarmonica del Teatro La Fenice, das BBC Symphony Orchestra und das Russische Nationalorchester.

Engagements als Operndirigent führten ihn u.a. bisher an die Glyndebourne Festival Opera (»La Bohème«, »Eugene Onegin«), die English National Opera (»Don Giovanni«), ans Bolschoi-Theater, zum Wagner Geneva Festival (»Der fliegende Holländer«), an die Hamburger Staatsoper (»Madama Butterfly«) und das Theater Basel (»Chowanschtschina«). 2017 folgten Debüts an der Oper Stuttgart (»Der Tod in Venedig«) und der Deutschen Oper Berlin (»Boris Godunow«).

Die Arbeit mit der nächsten Generation begabter Musiker liegt Kirill Karabits besonders am Herzen. So ist er u.a. künstlerischer Leiter des I, CULTURE Orchestra, einem Orchester junger Musiker aus Polen und anderen Osteuropäischen Ländern, mit dem er 2015 auch auf Europa-Tournee war. 2012 und 2014 dirigierte er das Finale des BBC Young Musician of the Year Award.