21 | 02 | 18


ccn weimarhalle



works by Sergej Prokofjew und Igor Strawinsky

1st Symphony Concert //

Conductor: Stefan Solyom
Soloist: Nelson Goerner, piano


Sergej Prokofjew Scythian suite for orchestra op. 20
Sergej Prokofjew Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 2 g-minor op. 16
Igor Strawinsky »Le Sacre du Printemps«


Our 1st symphony concert of the season presents works which evoked tumults and scandals when they first pre­miered. In Prokofiev’s version of his piano concerto, the audience stormed out of the theatre – the composition was too modern, too avant-garde, too dissonant. In Stravinsky’s vision of »Le Sacre du Printemps«, in which a young girl is sacrificed in a heathen ceremony marking the rites of spring, the atmosphere in the auditorium was so charged that a brawl broke out between its supporters and the Parisian ›upper crust‹. Debussy later nicknamed the piece »Le Massacre du Printemps«. Audiences today are impressed by its fictitious »style barbare« with signal-like motifs, pounding rhythms and innovative tonality which express such intoxicating force. Prokofiev himself seemed entranced by this work though he claimed he had never quite understood it. The »Scythian Suite« was his attempt at creating something similar. Diaghilev, whose Ballet Russe had staged the world premiere of »Sacre«, turned down Prokofiev’s request to produce the »Scythian Suite« for it not being Russian enough.