22 | 02 | 18


ccn weimarhalle



Works by Max Reger, Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy and Peter Tchaikovsky

9th Symphony Concert 2015/16 //

conductor: Eivind Aadland
soloist: Liza Ferschtman (violin)


Max Reger Variationen und Fuge über ein Thema von Mozart op. 132
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Violinkonzert e-Moll op. 64
Peter Tchaikovsky Sinfonie Nr. 4 f-Moll op. 36


»I myself always ›bathe‹ in the old masters! These musicians wanted to make only music, had enormous talent and ­learned just as much, truly.« ­Throughout his life, Max Reger focused on the works of famous predecessors. His greatest role model was J.S. Bach, judging from his ­numerous compositions devoted to the musician. In later years, however, Mozart increasingly became the benchmark of his work. In his Variations op. 132, ­Reger ­explores one of Mozart’s best known ­themes which had already featured as a variation movement in its original version. 

According to Robert Schumann, Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy was the »Mozart of the 19th century«. In his famous Violin Concerto, he united formalistic traditions and their fanciful continuation with an unmistakable, expressive character. Thanks to such innovation, this work continued to influence composers of later generations, such as Tchaikovsky and Sibelius.