• Weimarhalle

2. Symphony Concert

works by Maurice Ravel, Edouard Lalo and Arnold Schönberg

Maurice Ravel: »Rhapsodie espagnole«
Edouard Lalo: Konzert für Violoncello und Orchester d-Moll
Arnold Schönberg: »Pelleas et Melisande«. Sinfonische Dichtung op. 5 nach Maurice Maeterlinck

Maeterlinck’s poetic language vividly conveys what occurs within the deepest reaches of the human soul – something which can hardly be summed up in words, but is expressed all the more profoundly through music. The tale of »Pelleas et Melisande« has captured the imagination of numerous composers, as it reveals earth-shattering truths in seemingly everyday occurrences, a work brimming with premonitions and innuendos. Schönberg chose the drama as the subject of his first major piece in 1902 and related the tale in a brilliantly colourful musical language full of recurring themes. The fate of the characters is magnificently expressed by a gigantic orchestral complement. The two pieces featured in the first half of the concert combine French enchantment with Spanish verve, whereby something profoundly enigmatic resides in Ravel’s »Rhapsodie espagnole«. With references to folklore and musical poetry, Lalo’s passionate violoncello concerto offers far more than merely instrumental virtuosity.

Share with friends
  • Stefan Lano (Dirigent)
  • Alexandre Castro-Balbi (Violoncello)