E-Werk

Machine and boiler room

In 1897, the construction of a power station began on the Weimar Kirschberg, which one year later supplied electricity to the city's inhabitants for the first time. Shortly after the plant was built, a tram network was built in the summer of 1899, which was also supplied with energy from Kirschberg. The old tram depot, which has meanwhile become an art house cinema, has been preserved from Weimar's short tram phase: the Lichthaus Kino. Until 1996 the boilers of the power station were running, then these were also only history and the industrial monument began a second career as a place of art and culture.

Since the 2000/2001 season, the building complex with its former machine and boiler room has served as a secondary venue for DNT drama and music theatre. With its charm of the provisional, the E-Werk has developed into a cultural attraction, especially for young audiences; the E-Werk offers directors, choreographers and musicians a variable play space.

Starting in the 2013/14 season, the E-Werk will feature not only plays and adaptations of novels by contemporary authors and play developments, but also classic productions and chamber music adaptations of the classical opera repertoire. The Kesselsaal will also continue to be used as a space for unconventional discussion series and event formats.

 

 

Technical data

Detailed technical data can be found in our technical rider.
Download ›

 

Machine room

Auditorium
Permanently installed spectator platform with 176 seats, increase to 199 possible

 

Stage
Scene area 12 x 12 m on a platform construction

Traverse construction (rigg) with electric drive that can be moved horizontally and vertically in set-up mode for mounting lighting and sound equipment (no stage decoration):
Rigg dimensions: width 12.20m, length 12.50m, truss spacing approx. 2.50m
Load-bearing capacity: External trusses (left and right): 80 kg/m, other trusses: 45 kg/m

 

Boiler room

Auditorium
Variable seating, max. 80 seats

 

How to find us

At the Kirschberg 4
99423 Weimar, Germany

by public transport: Line 2, 3, 6, 9 - stop Friedensstraße, from there via the intersection Friedensstraße into the junction Am Kirschberg
by car: approach via Friedensstraße or Friedrich-Ebert-Straße, parking available on the E-Werk site

E-Werk

Maschinen- und Kesselsaal

Im Jahr 1897 wurde am Weimarer Kirschberg mit dem Bau eines Elektrizitätswerkes begonnen, das ein Jahr später zum ersten Mal Strom an die Stadtbewohner lieferte. Kurz nach der Errichtung des Werkes entstand im Sommer 1899 ein Straßenbahnnetz, das ebenfalls vom Kirschberg aus mit Energie versorgt wurde. Erhalten hat sich aus der nur kurzen Tram-Phase Weimars das alte Straßenbahndepot, das inzwischen zum Programmkino geworden ist: dem Lichthaus Kino. Bis 1996 liefen die Heizkessel des Elektrizitätswerkes, dann waren auch diese nur noch Geschichte und das Industriedenkmal begann eine zweite Karriere als Kunst- und Kulturstätte.

Bereits seit der Spielzeit 2000/2001 dient der Gebäudekomplex mit ehemaligem Maschinen- und Kesselsaal als Nebenspielstätte für Schauspiel und Musiktheater des DNT. Mit seinem Charme des Provisorischen hat sich das E-Werk vor allem bei einem jungen Publikum zu einem kulturellen Anziehungspunkt entwickelt; Regisseuren, Choreographen und Musikern bietet das E-Werk einen variablen Spiel-Raum.

Ab der Spielzeit 2013/14 werden dort neben Stücken und Romanbearbeitungen zeitgenössischer Autoren und Stückentwicklungen auch Klassikerinszenierungen sowie im Musiktheater regelmäßig kammermusikalische Bearbeitungen des klassischen Opernrepertoires zu sehen sein. Der Kesselsaal soll darüber hinaus auch weiterhin als Raum für unkonventionelle Gesprächsreihen und Veranstaltungsformate genutzt werden.

 

 

Technische Daten

Ausführliche technische Daten finden Sie in unserem technical rider.
Download ›

 

Maschinensaal

Zuschauerraum
Fest eingebautes Zuschauerpodest mit 176 Plätzen, Aufstockung auf 199 möglich

Bühne
Szenenfläche 12 x 12 m auf einem Podestaufbau

Mit Elektroantrieb horizontal und vertikal im Einrichtbetrieb verfahrbare Traversenkonstruktion (Rigg) zur Montage von Beleuchtungs- und Tongeräten (keine Bühnendekoration):
Abmessungen Rigg: Breite 12,20m, Länge 12,50m, Traversenabstand ca. 2,50m
Tragfähigkeit: Traversen außen (links und rechts): 80 kg/m, übrige Traversen: 45 kg/m

 

Kesselsaal

Zuschauerraum
Variable Bestuhlung, max. 80 Plätze

 

Anfahrt

Am Kirschberg 4
99423 Weimar

mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln: Linie 2, 3, 6, 9 - Haltestelle Friedensstraße, von dort aus über die Kreuzung Friedensstraße in die Einmündung Am Kirschberg
mit dem Auto: Anfahrt über Friedensstraße oder Friedrich-Ebert-Straße, Parkmöglichkeit auf dem Gelände des E-Werks