© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
Dates & Tickets
  • Fri 31.03.2023 // 20.00 o´clock
  • Sun 02.04.2023 // 20.00 o´clock
  • Fri 19.05.2023 // 20.00 o´clock
  • Sat 20.05.2023 // 20.00 o´clock
  • e-werk weimar (Maschinensaal)
  • Premiere 03.09.2022
  • Age from 12 years old

Welcome to Paradise Lost

Music by Jörn Arnecke / Libretto by Falk Richter based on »The Conference of the Birds« by Farid ud-Din Attar · world premiere // co-production with Kunstfest Weimar

Our way of life is systematically destroying its own foundations. Why don't we change it, even though we know about it? Or do we change nothing about it, precisely because we know about it?

The starting point of the music theater premiere »Welcome to Paradise Lost« is the medieval Sufi poem »The Conference of the Birds« by Farid ud-Din Attar. In this parable, birds from around the world come together to find a king to save their kingdom from chaos and doom. They decide to seek out the legendary Simurgh - the ideal of a strong ruler and the king of all creatures. But the journey through the seven valleys to Mount Oaf, where Simurgh lives, is long and arduous. And already the first excuses are found not to start the journey.

»Welcome to Paradise Lost« was commissioned by the Kunstfest Weimar from the author and librettist Falk Richter and the composer Jörn Arnecke, who lives and teaches in Weimar. Both artists have already collaborated on the setting of Richter's theater text »Unter Eis« and now come together again for this co-production by Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar and Kunstfest Weimar. 

Falk Richter translates the Persian verse epic into our time. Here, we humans are now beset by a flock of birds that denounce our political, cultural, socio-economic and ecological transgressions and urge us both to take a journey to ourselves and to reach a global agreement to finally change the devastating conditions. The result is a music theater that addresses the explosive sociopolitical issues of turbo-capitalism, climate change, and the destruction of nature. Jörn Arnecke's composition for vocal soloists of the Musiktheaterensemble, a chamber orchestra of instrumentalists from the Staatskapelle Weimar and a choir of fifteen young people from Weimar proves to be a congenial partner for Richter's linguistic landscapes. It forms the platform for the speeches and rebuttals and organizes Richter's floods of texts and images, which it at the same time always sublimates. 

The director and Weimar opera director Andrea Moses, as Falk Richter's desired partner, will stage »Welcome to Paradise Lost« with her team as a confrontation between the current supporters and profiteers of the self-destructive system and the youthful protest movements that radically question their way of life. In the process, the spectators become involved in a kind of passion play, making a pilgrimage to Simurgh - and thus to themselves - through the various rooms of the e-werk weimar: the machine hall, the boiler hall, to the square in front of the building and back. They are driven by the burning question of the possibility and impossibility of resistance against the seemingly insurmountable conditions and how we might change them. 

What are we willing to give up? What are we losing?

 

Composition commission by Kunstfest Weimar

 

Financed by    

Share with friends
  • Andreas Wolf (Musikalische Leitung)
  • Andrea Moses (Regie)
  • Christian Wiehle (Bühne & Kostüme)
  • Veronika Heisig (Choreografie)
  • Sarah Derendinger (Video)
  • Michael Höppner (Dramaturgie)
  • Emanuel Winter (Choreinstudierung Jugendliche)
  • Ylva Sofia Stenberg (Knabe)
  • Noa Frenkel (Ältere Frau)
  • Heike Porstein (Frau 1)
  • Sarah Mehnert / Marlene Gaßner (Frau 2)
  • Alexander Günther (Mann 1)
  • Alik Abdukayumov (Mann 2)
  • Jonas Fürstenau (Schauspieler)
  • Deniz Annak / Elias Ebrahimi / Jonah Martensen / Ina Thormann / Ava Kaiser (Kollektiv I)
  • Kristin Franke / Ina Gottschall / Gergely Hrubos / Johannes Hahn / Ida Büchner / Jelena Kittke (Kollektiv II)
  • Hannah Gerlach / Lina Herrmann / Saskia Schmidt / Lennard Simon / Elisabeth Wild / Hong Zhou (Kollektiv III)
Fri 31.03.2023 // 20.00 o´clock
Sun 02.04.2023 // 20.00 o´clock
Fri 19.05.2023 // 20.00 o´clock
Sat 20.05.2023 // 20.00 o´clock

© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
Termine & Tickets
  • Fr 31.03.2023 // 20.00 Uhr
  • So 02.04.2023 // 20.00 Uhr
  • Fr 19.05.2023 // 20.00 Uhr
  • Sa 20.05.2023 // 20.00 Uhr
  • e-werk weimar (Maschinensaal)
  • Premiere 03.09.2022
  • Alter ab 12 Jahren

Welcome to Paradise Lost

Musiktheater von Jörn Arnecke und Falk Richter nach »Die Konferenz der Vögel« von Farid ud-Din Attar · Uraufführung // Koproduktion mit dem Kunstfest Weimar

Unsere Art und Weise zu leben, zerstört systematisch ihre eigenen Grundlagen. Warum ändern wir nichts daran, obwohl wir darum wissen? Oder ändern wir nichts daran, gerade weil wir darum wissen?

Ausgangspunkt der Musiktheater-Uraufführung »Welcome to Paradise Lost« ist die mittelalterliche Sufi-Dichtung »Die Konferenz der Vögel« von Farid ud-Din Attar. In dieser Parabel kommen die Vögel aus aller Welt zusammen, um einen König zu finden, der ihr Reich vor Chaos und Untergang rettet. Sie beschließen, den legendären Simurgh – das Ideal eines starken Herrschers und den König aller Wesen – aufzusuchen. Doch die Reise durch die sieben Täler bis zum Berg Oaf, wo Simurgh lebt, ist lang und beschwerlich. Und schon werden die ersten Ausreden gefunden, die Reise nicht anzutreten.

»Welcome to Paradise Lost« ist ein Auftragswerk des Kunstfest Weimar an den Autor und Librettisten Falk Richter und den in Weimar ansässigen und hier lehrenden Komponisten Jörn Arnecke. Beide Künstler haben bereits bei der Vertonung von Richters Theatertext »Unter Eis« zusammengearbeitet und finden nun für diese Koproduktion von Deutschem Nationaltheater Weimar und Kunstfest Weimar erneut zusammen.  

Falk Richter übersetzt das persische Versepos in unsere Zeit. Hier werden nun wir Menschen von einem Schwarm Vögel heimgesucht, der unsere politischen, kulturellen, sozioökonomischen und ökologischen Verfehlungen anprangert und uns sowohl zu einer Reise zu uns selbst als auch zu einer globalen Übereinkunft drängt, die verheerenden Verhältnisse endlich zu verändern. So entsteht ein Musiktheater, das sich den brisanten gesellschaftspolitischen Fragen von Turbokapitalismus, Klimawandel und Naturzerstörung annimmt. Jörn Arneckes Komposition für Gesangsolist*innen des Musiktheaterensembles, ein Kammerorchester aus Instrumentalist*innen der Staatskapelle Weimar und einen Chor aus fünfzehn Weimarer Jugendlichen erweist sich als kongenialer Partner für Richters Sprachlandschaften. Sie bildet die Plattform für die Reden und Widerreden und organisiert die Text- und Bilderfluten Richters, die sie zugleich immer auch sublimiert.

Die Regisseurin und Weimarer Operndirektorin Andrea Moses wird als Wunschpartnerin von Falk Richter »Welcome to Paradise Lost« mit ihrem Team als Auseinandersetzung zwischen den augenblicklichen Trägern und Profiteuren des selbstzerstörerischen Systems und den jugendlichen Protestbewegungen, die deren Lebensweise radikal in Frage stellen, inszenieren. Dabei werden die Zuschauer*innen in eine Art Passionsspiel verwickelt und pilgern auf der Reise zu Simurgh – und damit zu sich selbst – durch die verschiedenen Räume des e-werks weimar: den Maschinensaal, den Kesselsaal, auf den Platz vor dem Gebäude und zurück. Angetrieben werden sie von der brennenden Frage nach Möglichkeit und Unmöglichkeit von Widerstand gegen die unüberwindlich scheinenden Verhältnisse und wie wir diese ändern könnten.  

Was sind wir bereit, aufzugeben? Was verlieren wir?

 

Kompositionsauftrag vom Kunstfest Weimar

 

Finanziert durch    

Seite mit Freunden teilen
Fr 31.03.2023 // 20.00 Uhr
So 02.04.2023 // 20.00 Uhr
Fr 19.05.2023 // 20.00 Uhr
Sa 20.05.2023 // 20.00 Uhr