Dates & Tickets
  • Fri 16.06.2023 // 19.00 o´clock // Premiere
  • am e-werk weimar (Open-Air)
  • Premiere 16.06.2023

The Servant of Two Masters

by Carlo Goldoni

The merchant Pantalone would like his daughter Clarice to marry the rich Federigo Rasponi. However, when he learns of Rasponi's death, he unceremoniously betroths Clarice to Silvio, the dottore's son. For Clarice and Silvio, who sincerely love each other, this is a happy coincidence. Then Federigo, who was thought to be dead, appears and wants to assert his claims. His servant Truffaldino bursts into the story with him. Truffaldino in turn, wanting to increase his income and get an extra bite to eat, has recommended himself to Florindo, who has recently arrived, and thus becomes the eponymous servant of two masters. In order not to be exposed, Truffaldino now does everything he can to prevent his financial backers from meeting. And chaos is inevitable. What the enterprising servant, and initially no one else, suspects is that Federigo is in fact his sister Beatrice in disguise, who happens to be Florindo's lover. The confusion that Truffaldino creates is therefore likely to take another surprising turn.

First performed in 1746 and later staged by Goethe here in Weimar, Carlo Goldoni's most famous stage play with its tableau of characters is considered a prime example and highlight of the commedia dell'arte: cheeky servants and clever maids, penny-pinching patriarchs and garrulous dottores. And in the midst of all turbulence there are the lovers, who are first plunged into misfortune by the machinations of others before the longed-for happiness is granted to them. However, there is more than just whimsy behind the capers of Goldoni's servants. The focus is on the evil schemes of corrupt nobles and miserly employers who virtually force their employees to rebel against them in cunning ways. Goldoni thus gives dignity and a human face to the servants, who until then had been shown as contemptible and worthy of ridicule. Therein lies the great power of his comedies, which to this day have lost none of their sophistication, wit and charm.

Swaantje Lena Kleff, in-house director at the DNT since the 2021/2022 season and most recently familiar to audiences through »A Christmas Carol«, »Paarlaufen II« and »The Tempest«, will bring Goldoni's fast-paced comedy to our summer theatre stage at the e-werk weimar. Laughter expressly welcome!

Share with friends
  • Swaantje Lena Kleff (Regie)
  • Philip Rubner (Bühne)
  • Friederike Lettow (Kostüme)
  • Ludwig Peter Müller (Live-Musik)
  • Eva Bormann (Dramaturgie)
Fri 16.06.2023 // 19.00 o´clock Premiere

Termine & Tickets
  • Fr 16.06.2023 // 19.30 Uhr // Premiere
  • am e-werk weimar (Open-Air)
  • Premiere 16.06.2023

Der Diener zweier Herren

von Carlo Goldoni

Der Kaufmann Pantalone sähe es zu gerne, dass Tochter Clarice den reichen Frederigo Rasponi heiratet. Als er jedoch von Rasponis Tod erfährt, verlobt er Clarice kurzerhand mit Silvio, dem Sohn des Dottore. Für Clarice und Silvio, die einander aufrichtig lieben, eine glückliche Fügung. Da taucht der totgeglaubte Rasponi auf und will seine Ansprüche geltend machen. Mit ihm platzt auch sein Diener Truffaldino in die Geschichte. Der wiederum hat sich, da er seine Kasse aufbessern und was zwischen die Zähne bekommen will, auch dem kürzlich angereisten Florindo anempfohlen und wird so zum namhaften Diener zweier Herren. Um nicht aufzufliegen, setzt Truffaldino nun alles daran, dass seine Geldgeber nicht aufeinandertreffen. Das Chaos ist vorprogrammiert. Was der umtriebige Diener und zunächst auch sonst niemand ahnt, ist, dass sich im Gewand Rasponis dessen Schwester Beatrice verbirgt, die wiederum die Geliebte von Florindo ist. Das Durcheinander, das Truffaldino erzeugt, dürfte also eine weitere, verblüffende Wendung nehmen.

1746 uraufgeführt, später übrigens auch von Goethe hier in Weimar inszeniert, gilt Carlo Goldonis berühmtestes Bühnenstück mit seinem Figurentableau als Paradebeispiel und Höhepunkt der Commedia dell´arte: dreiste Diener und kluge Zofen, geizige Patriarchen und geschwätzige Dottores. Und inmitten des Trubels die Verliebten, die durch das Treiben der anderen erst einmal ins Unglück stürzen, bevor ihnen das ersehnte Glück widerfährt. Hinter den Kapriolen, die Goldonis Bedienstete schlagen, verbirgt sich jedoch mehr als nur eine Laune. Zielscheibe sind die üblen Machenschaften korrupter Adliger und geiziger Dienstherren, die ihre Angestellten geradezu zwingen, sich trickreich gegen sie aufzulehnen. Goldoni verleiht dem bis dato als verachtens- und verspottenswert gezeigten dienstbaren Volk so Würde und menschliches Antlitz. Darin liegt die große Kraft seiner Komödien, die bis heute nichts an Raffinesse, Witz und Charme eingebüßt haben.

Swaantje Lena Kleff, seit der Spielzeit 2021/2022 Hausregisseurin am DNT und dem Publikum zuletzt durch »A Christmas Carol«, »Paarlaufen II« und »Der Sturm« verbunden, wird Goldonis rasante Komödie auf unsere Sommertheaterbühne am e-werk weimar bringen. Lachen unbedingt erwünscht!

Seite mit Freunden teilen
Fr 16.06.2023 // 19.30 Uhr Premiere